top of page


          Argyle Fire District began operation 1979 when several citizens of the community of Argyle, Florida began to discuss the need for fire protection in the area. Initially composed of Allison Day, Carl Day, Kenneth Gillis, Oliver Scott, Thad Wallace, Charlie Day, Bob Cole, Casey Hawkins, David Chandler, Columbus Gillis, Bill Adkison and others to seek ways to get the Volunteer Fire Department organized and operational. Some of them were ex-Navy Seals and had firefighting skills and experience. They had accumulated some firefighting equipment and manuals, which they used to begin the early training of the first firefighters for Argyle. Carl Day was the first chief for the fledgling fire department.

          It was not until 1981 that the Walton County Board of County Commissioners officially established the Argyle Volunteer Fire Department with their Articles of Incorporation. This established the current geographical boundaries of the Argyle Fire District. There was no money supplied to Argyle Fire Department and it operated on funds received from bake sales, chili suppers, raffles and donations for many years, slowly growing and increasing their capabilities.

          In 1984 the members the Department decided to ask the citizens of the Argyle Fire District to support a referendum that would establish an annual special tax assessment of $25 per occupied dwelling to help fund the Argyle Fire district. The referendum would also establish the Argyle Fire District, which would be managed by an elected five-member Board of Commissioners. The referendum passed, and the first Board of Directors was elected at the same time. The first Commissioners were Ron Pugh, John Day, Tommy Yates, Bob Cole and Bill Adkinson. With a steady and predictable source of income, the AVFD was able to upgrade vehicles and equipment enabling the department to provide better fire protection and suppression and to improve and expand the training and education of the volunteer firefighters.
          From its beginning, the Argyle Fire District established a reputation of high-level firefighting skills, quick response, and excellence in training regimens. This was due to the dedicated efforts of all members, but especially the hard work, dedication, and
commitment of the Department's Chiefs: Carl Day, L. C. Griggs, Charlie Day, who served as Chief for over 24 years, and the current Fire Chief, Jonathan Day.
          Today Argyle Fire Department has a fleet of three pumpers, two assault units, one rescue truck, one tanker, one brush unit, one rehab unit. Argyle has a total of 30 members with three stations within a 95 square mile area.

bottom of page